Post Traumatic Stress from…Work?

5

August 27, 2014 by Keisha || The Girl Next Door is Black

Photo cr: lifecareeroptions.com.au

Photo cr: lifecareeroptions.com.au

My career counselor told me she thinks I have post traumatic stress from my last two jobs.

I laughed when she said it. The past two years have been intense for sure, but post traumatic stress? Isn’t that usually reserved for soldiers, victims of violence – you know, real trauma?

I knew my sense of confidence and self-efficacy took a serious hit with the job I left in 2013. I admittedly felt a bit raw going into the next place. Like jumping into another relationship when you’re on the rebound. However, unlike a relationship, working to bring in an income is essential to my survival, since the only person taking care of me, is me.

My career counselor also astutely assessed, “You probably felt increasingly anxious when asked for things.” How did she know?! Due to the nature of my last role, I received many requests (or “demands” depending on who did the asking) to the point where when my phone would ring or chime, even outside of work, I’d sigh wearily and wonder, “Who wants something from me now?” I am fairly certain I experienced my first anxiety attack at that place, so…maybe she was onto something with the post traumatic stress. She does have a psychotherapy background, after all.

She presented this unofficial diagnosis after I shared with her that while job searching – feeling as though my life were in limbo until I secured a new job – when I reviewed job descriptions and envisioned what the day-to-day work might look like, I felt such an intense aversion. Worse than my revulsion at the idea of spending an afternoon with Bill O’Reilly, Sean Hannity and Elizabeth Hasselbeck. As though one of those positions might beguilingly lead me into the arms of an invisible boogeyman, its massive hands slowly tightening around my dainty lady throat until I can’t breathe. Squeezing the life out of me.

Eep. So, maybe I am a bit burned out.

Cracking under stress

Photo cr: Bernard Goldbach, flickr.com

One morning, a few weeks after I lost my job, my youngest sister, C___, called me and when I answered, her words rushed out before I finished saying “Hello,”

“Keisha, omigosh! Ok, I know this is going to sound ‘all about me’, but can I just tell you? The best thing about you not having a job is I can reach you whenever I want to now!”

I chuckled. She was right. In the short time since I’d become a woman of leisure, she and I had spoken more often, almost daily. We even Facetimed! What is this magical world where one has time to face…time?

I traveled to Austin a couple of weeks ago for a needed vacation. Yes, you can need a vacation from the exhaustion of cycling through what I term “The Five Stages of Layoff Grief” and worriedly wondering what you’re going to do with you life. I also wanted to reconnect with another part of myself. Having moved around a bit, people sometimes ask me, “Which place feels more like home to you?” Every place feels a bit like home to me. Each place I’ve lived and where I’ve experienced life in new and unfamiliar ways, has helped to shape who I am. The me that I am in San Francisco, the life that I live here, only represents one part of me, it’s one view of my world. Austin represents another. I have family there in the way of close friends and now my sister C___.

Importantly, in Austin, I’m more easily able to relinquish the fear of being vulnerable, fear of having my insecurities and weaknesses exposed. The walls that we gradually stack up as adults are more permeable in this place where I lived as a college student. There’s no putting up fronts with my Austin family. To boot, the town is friendlier; I could shed my tough city armor. I needed time away to breathe; to let the waist out.

IMG_20140817_ACL

I stayed with my sister, whom having newly graduated from college, just began a new job and rented her first non-college apartment. My last evening in town we assembled her new dresser while Mork & Mindy (RIP Robin Williams) and then The Cosby Show played in the background. I loved being able to spend time with my little sister, doing nothing more than setting up her apartment. With our 13-year age difference and living so far away from each other, I miss/ed out on the chance to do some of these simple activities with her.

I also met up with several of my friends from college, including former roommates, my best friend and a friend, F___, with whom I keep in touch on Facebook, but hadn’t seen since we graduated over a decade ago.

Over breakfast with F___ – the food in Austin is excellent – we caught up on the goings-on in our lives since college. She’d worked for nearly a decade as a CPA until one day realizing she didn’t like it very much and didn’t want to do it anymore. As she described her emotional evolution, I identified with almost everything she described feeling.

So great to catch up with my friend F___ after all this time!

So great to catch up with my friend F___ after all this time!

I told her I felt like I’d become a robot. It happened gradually enough that I didn’t notice the spark fading from my smile, the twinkle from eyes. She nodded as I shared that working in the environments I did forced me to repress so much of my natural self. Whether it be stifling my creativity and humor in writing a report – gotta be professional, no quips allowed!; something as basic as adapting to the fact that a lot of people don’t say good morning to each other at work (or other social niceties) and you need to calm your friendly Texas ass down; simply not being able to say of the lazy, pompous blowhard with a penchant for taking credit for other people’s work and throwing others under the bus (and there are always these people), “This guy is a poison to the team. At least five people have left because of him, yet you guys are steady promoting this fool. If the company goes down, you have yourselves to blame for being blinded by bullshit;” or when you want to shout in a ridiculously contentious meeting, “We’re not curing cancer people, calm the fuck down! No one is going to die!”

F___ is currently exploring an interest in the film industry on the business side of things, and encouraged me to take some time to consider what’s I want to do next. As she smartly said, “Working for years and taking a couple of weeks off every once in a while isn’t long enough to get re-acquainted with who you are.” She’s right. I’ve been out of work for almost two and a half months now and it’s not until just recently that I’ve felt even close to being me again. It’s as though I’ve been unwittingly enrolled in a crash course called, “Revisiting Keisha: 101.” I returned from Austin reinvigorated.

Perhaps my career counselor exaggerated a bit when she said I have post traumatic stress, perhaps not. I certainly don’t think my situation compares to more typical PTSD cases. I do know that I haven’t felt this free and light in a long while. I smile more, I laugh more, I write more, I read more and I have more time for the people I care for. Sunday night thoughts are no longer sullied with the pallor of the impending Monday morning. I’m enjoying seeing the world from a different perspective – it’s different with the daytime free! Even my career counselor, whom, up until a couple of weeks ago, hadn’t seen me in almost a year – since I took the most recent job – commented when she greeted me, “You look great! I can see it in your eyes.”

I don’t want to return to the way things were before.

Sister selfie at Mt. Bonnell in Austin

Sister selfie at Mt. Bonnell in Austin

5 thoughts on “Post Traumatic Stress from…Work?

  1. teachezwell says:

    You know, I had a job that felt a lot like you were describing and when I left, it took me months to recover from the stress and marginalization. I think the kind of dread you had was not unlike being in an abusive situation. Glad you got out!

    Like

  2. Emma says:

    I am with out a doubt a person who has suffered form work place PTSD.I am no longer employed by this corporate MONSTER.I suffered from a lot of anxiety the first few days, I felt like I was going through a bad divorce. I feel so free now. I smile more, and my headaches are no more. I able to spend more time with my family, and focus more on finding out who I really am.

    Like

  3. Farhaneh says:

    I am so happy that you are blogging because I can just point people to this entry when I have to explain how I felt when I was going through the same stage. And comparison to PTSD suffered by military personnel notwithstanding, I think your therapist nailed it.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

© thegirlnextdoorisblack.com & The Girl Next Door is Black, 2012 - 2014.

Join 522 other subscribers

Posts by Date

August 2014
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
© thegirlnextdoorisblack.com & The Girl Next Door is Black, 2012 - 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material, including photos, without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to The Girl Next Door is Black with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
days like crazy paving

the life, times and ramblings of jaythenerdkid. probably not safe for children.

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

HeyMikeyATL

"The New Dear Abby"

anthoknees

anthoknees, please!

Barking Back

-- trying to be a good animal

Thrifty Guardian

Your Guide to a Better Life On a Budget

WhatAWonderfulWorld

The Adventures of a Londoner Living in Santiago, Chile

Pink Me Not

A Mom's Ramblings About the Marvels & Mishaps of Parenting, the Joys of Family Travel & the Writing Life

Inside Kel's Kitchen

Love to eat, love to cook, and trying to keep it healthy!

Lisa W. Tetting

Author, Blogger, Poet and Freelance Writer

Andrew Weatherby

London based travel and lifestyle blogger, here to inspire you to travel

Kasalina

speaking my truth, one blog post at a time

Loc'd & on d'Go

The Adventures of Spicy and Mel

Veni! Vidi! Que...?

Traversing the world. Conquering fears. Obliterating mediocrity.

Catching up with Keesh

Another Black educator changing the world one country at a time.

Being Kindra

The randomness that is my life!